You are here

Truck Classifications

Truck Classifications

Commercial trucks in the United States are classified by gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR). The classification is given on a scale of one through eight.

Passenger vehicle 3/4 and 1 ton trucks are often referred to as "heavy duty" but are technically heavy duty models of the light duty vehicle classification.

Light vs Medium vs Heavy Duty Definitions

  • Light duty trucks are classified as class 1-2-3 trucks. Class 2A trucks are typically called "light duty", while class 2B trucks are often called "light heavy duty".
  • Medium duty trucks are classified as class 4-5-6 trucks.
  • Heavy duty trucks are classified as class 7-8 trucks.

Gross Vehicle Weight Rating Range:

Class GVRW Example Vehicle
Class 1 GVRW 0 - 6,0000 lbs Ford Ranger
Class 2 6,001 - 10,000 lbs
(subdivided into 2 classes, Class 2A & 2B, see below)
See class 2A & 2B below
Class 2A 6,001 - 8,500 lbs Ford F-150, Dodge Ram 1500, Chevrolet Silverado 1500
Class 2B 8,501 - 10,000 lbs Chevrolet Silverado 2500, Dodge Ram 2500, Ford F-250
Class 3 10,001 - 14,000 lbs Dodge Ram 3500, Chevrolet Silverado 3500, Ford F-350, Ford F-450*
Class 4 14,001 - 16,000 lbs Dodge Ram 4500, Ford F-450 (chassis cab)*
Class 5 16,001 - 19,500 lbs Dodge Ram 5500, Ford F-550, F-450 (chassis cab)*
Class 6 19,501 - 26,000 lbs Ford F-650
Class 7 26,001 - 33,000 lbs Ford F-750
Class 8 over 33,000 lbs Tractor Trailer

* The Ford F-450 is available in several GVW ratings with different class ratings.


Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) is the maximum rated weight of the vehicle and cargo, including passengers. GVWR may be applied to trucks or trailers, but not the two combined. Gross combined weight rating is a separate rating.